Pavilion of Edicts (Phu Van Lau)

It is a delicate pavilion with a south view. In front of the Pavilion is a large court leading to the Nghinh Luong Pavilion (Pavilion for Fresh Air) on the Perfume River bank.

Pavilion of Edicts, Hue, Vietnam

There had once been a tiger - elephant duel on the pavilion grounds in 1829 to entertain Emperor Minh Mang. In his fortieth and fiftieth birthday anniversaries, many entertainments were also held there. These practices were maintained by Emperors Thieu Tri and Tu Duc in their birthday anniversaries. Emperor Thieu Tri listed the Perfume River and the Pavilion of Edicts among 20 most beautiful sights of the capital city of Hue. It was him who ordered in 1843 the construction of a stele house on the right of the pavilion for engraving his poem "Morning Boating on the Perfume River".

It is the building where Emperor's edicts and lists of successful candidates of Thi Hoi (National Examination) and Thi Dinh (Court Examinations) were publicized. Though built early in Emperor Gia Long's reign (1819), it was first decided by Emperor Minh Mang to be the site to publicly display his important edicts.

The pavilion was destroyed by a typhoon in 1904 and restored later by Emperor Thanh Thai.

Article relatif

  • Rivière des Parfums

    Rivière des Parfums

    La rivière des Parfums (Sông Hương) tire son nom des nombreuses herbes médicinales qui poussaient sur ses rives. Nombreux villages de sampans avec leurs petits autels et les offrandes sur le toit, à l’intention des génies de l’eau. La...

  • The Nine Dynastic Urns

    The Nine Dynastic Urns

    The nine Dynastic Urns are the greatest bronze ones in Vietnam They were cast by Emperor Minh Mang in 1836 to symbolize the sovereignty of the dynasty.Each of them is named after the posthumous title of the emperors worshipped in the The Mieu Temple. For example, Cao Urn is named after Emperor...

  • Phuoc Tich Ancient village

    Phuoc Tich Ancient village

    Travelling to Hue you may look for some corners where still keep remain it owns culture, architecture and a traditional food let visit Phuoc Tich ancient village with old house architectures, 500 years old temple and a collection of ceramic relics which are strong reflection of Hue culture....

  • Tombeau de Minh Mang

    Tombeau de Minh Mang

    Le tombeau de Minh Mang est situé à l’extérieur de la ville, sur le mont Cam Ke, à 12 km de Hué, sur la rive ouest de la Rivière des Parfums.En avril 1840, le roi Minh Mang changea le nom du mont "Cam Ke" en mont "Hieu Son" et donna au futur tombeau...

  • Temple de la Littérature Hué

    Temple de la Littérature Hué

    Le temple de la Littérature est un temple confucéen du Viêt Nam, situé sur la rive gauche de la rivière des Parfums à un kilomètre de la pagode de la Dame céleste à l'ouest de la ville de Hué.Sous le règne des...

  • L’école nationale de Hué (Quoc Hoc Hue)

    L’école nationale de Hué (Quoc Hoc Hue)

    L’école nationale de Huê se trouve sur la rue Lê Loi, quartier de Vinh Ninh, ville de Huê, province de Thua Thien-Hué.Quoc Tu Giam fut l’Ecole Nationale ouverte par la Cour pour former les élites intellectuelles de l’état. Au...

  • Thanh Toan bridge

    Thanh Toan bridge

    Thanh Toan old bridge built in 1776 for the connection between villages and a place to have some breeze during the summer day. The Bridge is one of the oldest bridge in Vietnam recognized by as country heritage in 1990

  • Dieu De Pagoda

    Dieu De Pagoda

    The pagoda includes a main sanctuary with two statues of the Deity Eight Vajra.Dieu De Pagoda was built by King Thieu Tri in 1844 on the platform of 5,000m² in his old residence, where he was born in 1807. It was constructed on a large scale, but was badly damaged during the successive wars....

  • Hermitage Bien Duc Thien An

    Hermitage Bien Duc Thien An

    The Hermitage Bien Duc Thien An, usually name Thien Duc Hermitage, has been founded in Summer 1940 by the Bien Duc French hermits with the name of Thien An (Peace from Heaven).The hermitage is formerly managed as an infirmary and a school. To day the hermitage is only a place for religious...

  • The Flag Tower

    The Flag Tower

    It is commonly known as a flagpole, but viewed from the Imperial City; it is really a huge structure of three flat-top pyramids, one lying on top of another. It was built during Emperor Gia Long's reign, in 1807, and later improved by his son, Emperor Minh Mang.According to the Thuc Luc...

Vos places préférées

Voyage sur mesure

Membre & Association