Tu Hieu Pagoda

Pagoda was built in the shape of the Chinese character "Khau" (mouth), with the main building consisting of three rooms and two wings. It faces the southeast and uses Ngu Binh Mount as a front screen.

Tu Hieu Pagoda, Hue, Vietnam

The pagoda was originally a small hut built by Nhat Dinh in 1843, who was formerly recognized by royal authority as the monk of Giac Hoang Pagoda. In 1848, the pagoda was restored by monk Cung Ky with the help of the king's eunuchs and courtiers. Tu Hieu hence became a large pagoda.

In 1894, it was rebuilt by Cuong Ky with the support of King Thanh Thai and the King's eunuchs created the half-moon lake. In 1962, the pagoda was renovated by Most Ven Chon Thiet. And in 1971 the three-entrance gate and the staff houses were rehabilitated by senior monk Chi Niem.

The entrance gate to the pagoda is a curved two storey structure. On the second storey, a statue of the guardian spirit Ho Phap protects the pagoda. Inside the gate is a crescent-lotus pond. On both sides of the courtyard are stele houses engraved with the history of the pagoda.

Article relatif

  • Temple de la Littérature Hué

    Temple de la Littérature Hué

    Le temple de la Littérature est un temple confucéen du Viêt Nam, situé sur la rive gauche de la rivière des Parfums à un kilomètre de la pagode de la Dame céleste à l'ouest de la ville de Hué.Sous le règne des...

  • Dong Ba Market

    Dong Ba Market

    Dong Ba Market is the biggest market in Thua Thien-Hue Province.Under the reign of King Gia Long (1802-1819), there was a big market named Qui Gia near Chanh Dong (Dong Ba) Gate of Hue Citadel. The name “Qui Gia” referred to the return to Phu Xuan Capital (Hue nowadays) of Nguyen...

  • Hué, une cité bâtie autour de la nature

    Hué, une cité bâtie autour de la nature

    Huê ne serait pas la même sans la rivière Huong ou rivière des Parfums et le mont Ngu Binh, qui confèrent à l’ancienne cité des rois un cadre harmonieux et romantique. Une combinaison d’éléments indissociables que savent...

  • Phuoc Tich Ancient village

    Phuoc Tich Ancient village

    Travelling to Hue you may look for some corners where still keep remain it owns culture, architecture and a traditional food let visit Phuoc Tich ancient village with old house architectures, 500 years old temple and a collection of ceramic relics which are strong reflection of Hue culture....

  • Ensemble de monuments de Hué

    Ensemble de monuments de Hué

    Établie comme capitale du Viet Nam unifié en 1802, la ville de Huê a été non seulement le centre politique mais aussi le centre culturel et religieux sous la dynastie Nguyên, jusqu'en 1945. La rivière des Parfums serpente à travers la...

  • Le Mausolée de Khai Dinh

    Le Mausolée de Khai Dinh

    De tous les tombeaux impériaux qui jalonnent la rivière des Parfums, le mausolée de l’empereur Khai Dinh, l’avant-dernier souverain de la dynastie des Nguyên (1802-1945), est le plus étonnant, son architecture étant totalement différente...

  • Porte du Midi - Ngo Mon

    Porte du Midi - Ngo Mon

    Elle sert d’entrée principale et de façade de la Cité Impériale. Construite en 1833 sous le règne de Minh Mang au moment du ré-aménagement de la Cité. La Porte du Midi constitue un ensemble d’architectures diversifié, elle...

  • Bach Ma National Park

    Bach Ma National Park

    The national park, extended in 2008, lies on a high mountain ridge that runs west-east from the Laotian border to the East Sea at the Hai Van pass. This ridge interrupts the coastal plain of Vietnam, and, therefore, forms a biogeographical boundary between the faunas and floras of northern and...

  • Pagode de Thien Mu

    Pagode de Thien Mu

    La pagode de la Dame céleste (en vietnamien: Chùa Thiên Mụ) est la pagode la plus haute du Viêt Nam avec les six étages supérieurs de sa tour, dénommée « Source de félicité ». Elle se trouve à Hué sur...

  • The Flag Tower

    The Flag Tower

    It is commonly known as a flagpole, but viewed from the Imperial City; it is really a huge structure of three flat-top pyramids, one lying on top of another. It was built during Emperor Gia Long's reign, in 1807, and later improved by his son, Emperor Minh Mang.According to the Thuc Luc...

Vos places préférées

Voyage sur mesure

Membre & Association